Posted by: Odzangba | October 28, 2006

Tango with QEMU

The cafe I regularly visit in my neighbourhood runs Ubuntu 6.06 on their internet server. The client workstations however run Windows XP SP2. This is not exactly what I’d like to see but at least there is some linux usage.🙂 This setup has its issues particularly in the billing and printing aspects. The current billing software is a windows-specific app – CyberCafe Pro 5. This creates the need for another server, besides the internet server, to handle billing and sales.

The owner of the cafe was not happy about this state of events and he complained to me. I made a few posts on the LinuxAccra mailing list asking for help but got none. So I decided to do it myself. Initially, I went for the wine solution. But CyberCafe kept crashing with some cryptic error messages.

There was only one thing left to do… run winxp on Ubuntu. So I grabbed the qemu package and got the winxp installation done. Got the cafe software installed only to find out the clients could not find it!  It seems QEMU sets up its own router for internet connections so while the clients were looking for the sever within the 192.168.0.0-255 range, the “server” had an ip of 10.0.2.22. So I went hunting on the net and found out I had to create a bridge between the two operating sytems. By then it was 4.30 in the morning so I gave it up and went home to catch a few hours of sleep before lectures.

I might steal some time tomorrow to try and fix this issue and get it off my plate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

