Posted by: Odzangba | March 12, 2007

Ghana + 50?

I guess it is only right that I say something about Ghana’s 50th anniversary. Ghana was 50 last week Tuesday and the event was marked with a lot of jubilation, clubbing and very little sober reflection.🙂 On a serious note, the public response to the celebration was terrific as I’m sure many of you reading this have heard… flags, music, dancing… etc.

But I got the distinct impression, people did not have any other reason for celebrating but the fact that Ghana is 50 years old. That’s still a very good reason to celebrate, don’t get me wrong. I just wish there had been a lot more sober reflection and more concrete plans for the future. Having said that, the festivities were great. Many of us started celebrating in January and many others are still celebrating. I was unable to join in this weekend’s feverish clubbing and from what I hear, it was… awesome.😀


Responses

  1. […] The second post goes a bit further: I got the distinct impression, people did not have any other reason for celebrating but the fact that Ghana is 50 years old. That’s still a very good reason to celebrate, don’t get me wrong. I just wish there had been a lot more sober reflection and more concrete plans for the future. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

