Posted by: Odzangba | April 25, 2007

Balme Library Goes Ubuntu…

Yes, you heard me right. The Balme library records have been fully digitized and guess the platform being used… Ubuntu 6.06! I needed to stretch a bit after sitting for some two hours and took a stroll into the main hall of the Balme library. I noticed some computer terminals and upon closer inspection, I realized the machines had Ubuntu 6.06 installed on them. There is some sort of web based application here that provides a front-end to the library database. The idea is that a student can just walk in and enter the details of a book he’s looking for and instantly be told which part of this huge building that book is located. So no more tedious searching through long index card catalogues for me.🙂

The desktop looks dumbed down a bit. No desktop switcher, no address bar in firefox and there are instructions telling you to not close firefox. The idea is to prevent people from browsing with these machines.

Those rules do not generally apply to me though… I’m blogging from one of the machines right now.😀 I’ll blog a bit more about the set-up here when I get the chance… I have to go and prepare for an exam tomorrow morning.

Cheers,
Odzangba


Responses

  1. One more corporate set up falls to Linux….the world is turning…gradually. I finally switched from XP to Mandriva yesterday myself.

  2. if the idea is to prevent people from surfing, why do they have firefox installed in the first place?
    i’m guess they also forgot to remove the shotcuts, thus allowing anyone who know how to browse without the address bar.

  3. Exactly, Chris, but I cannot find fault with them right now… I’m too happy they made the switch to Linux here in the Balme library. I can’t wait for other departments to follow suit.😀

  4. […] Balme Library at the University of Ghana has gone digital and open-source: “Yes, you heard me right. The Balme library records have been fully digitized and guess the […]

  5. you should interview the guys who installed the system; that would be cool

  6. wow that sound promising.We’re getting some where at least. So what happens if you close firefox?. If they really don’t want people to browse, they should get rid of firefox.

  7. Yeah… but i can still browse with the terminal😀

  8. Yes, and removing w3m, lynx, links, elinks etc. wouldn’t solve much either, because you’ll still have enough Perl and Python on your system to script your way through the ‘Net. Especially since they’ve chosen Ubuntu there are about 4 trillion python packages installed by default on Ubuntu.

  9. […] source evangelism here in the university of Ghana has built some serious momentum. I talked about ubuntu being used in the balme library some weeks last semester. Well now, it’s the ICT direcrorate. That’s where students do […]

  10. […] source evangelism here in the university of Ghana has built some serious momentum. I talked about ubuntu being used in the balme library some weeks last semester. Well now, it’s the ICT direcrorate. That’s where students do […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

