Posted by: Odzangba | May 13, 2008

Finally compiled it

I finally got some free time over on Sunday to compile the 2.6.25.3 kernel and I was very surprised at how easy it was. I’ve read some ghastly stories about custom kernel compiles going horribly wrong and most of the initial tutorials I read were unnecessarily long but I found an excellent tutorial on the ubuntu forums that makes things simple. The only tedious part was choosing what should be compiled… that was essentially the whole point of compiling the custom kernel but that doesn’t mean I have to like it.🙂 It took just about an hour and a half to finish compiling and then I found out I had not enabled CONFIG_TIMER_STATS (powertop needed it to estimate power usage) and I had to do it all over again.😦

Now that I know how to compile the kernel however, my natural urge to speed things up has taken over and I spent the best part of the night disabling kernel modules and options I did not need. This might occupy my time for the best part of the week.😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

