Posted by: Odzangba | February 28, 2009

How To Fix Partition Table Order

Last week, I resized one of my partitions to create some swap space. It’s a long painful story that I will not bore you with but essentially, I got cocky with my 2GB RAM and refused to allocate swap space… ubuntu punished me by activating compcache which then caused random lockups of the system. Anyway, I was coming up to the end of an install cycle anyway so I backed up the system with remastersys (that is one story, I’ll have to blog about later), resized one of my partitions to create swap space and out of habit, did a sudo fdisk -l… it told me my partition entries were not in the proper order (a side effect of the resizing). It wasn’t a big problem, just an irritation really but an irritation nevertheless. I decided to fix it before the install:

sudo fdisk /dev/sda
press x to enter expert mode
press f to fix partition order
press w to write the partition table changes to disk

Yes, I’l take a Heineken.😀


Responses

  1. Hi!

    I’ve done the same thing as you using fdisk.
    But after that i’ve ended with parted/gparted recognizing my HDD as unallocated.
    Most funny is that all OSes (Vista, Win7 beta and Ubuntu) are booting and working just fine, properly seeing all partitions (except that all WINs don’t see LIN partitions🙂 as always). All tips about that problem which i’ve found are telling me that I should manually re-map starts and endings of extended partitions or even just re-partition my HDD (when I have single 640GB HDD, filled to about 65-70%).

    Also, as I’ve read, that’s a problem just between fdisk and parted.

    I would be grateful for any ideas on more convenient solution.

    Best regards, TargeT-San, from Ukraine

  2. Мне интересно здесь


Leave a Reply

Categories

