Posted by: Odzangba | May 25, 2009

Greetings from Ho

It’s a long weekend (thanks to African Unity Day) and I’m relaxing in sleepy Ho… it’s nice to get away from the constant hustle and bustle of Accra. Anyway, I’ve had a lot of hard disk trouble lately. First I ran out of space, then my system hard disk died. As if that wasn’t enough, the next day, my spare hard disk died too… making my life doubly miserable. You see, I hadn’t backed up my data… I was out of space after all and the dvd shop is out of my way – I kept putting it off. So I had to raid my younger brother’s piggy bank for a new hard disk. I’d like to think that “I was not attached to those hard disks” but it really grinds my gears the way they both failed in rapid succession. Now if I had my way, somebody at Seagate would be in a lot of pain right now. How is it that the world’s largest hard disk manufacturer has so many defective products on shelves? For what it’s worth, I’m never buying a Seagate hard drive again… even though Barracuda is such a cool name. Western Digital hard drives are – in my experience – much more reliable. But they really should do something about the name “Caviar.”😀

I now have a lot more hard disk space and a fresh install of Ubuntu 9.04. Morale of the story… back up your data and don’t buy Seagate !


Responses

  1. Belated Happy African Liberation Day. Today is ECOWAS day! It’s 34 yrs old! Africa Must Unite!

  2. You really went to H and back. Welcome back. One thing about life is… it blows, then you die…haha.

  3. Greetings from Seattle.
    Ive enjoyed reading your blog.
    Im running crunchbang linux which is essentially Ubuntu with the Openbox window manager rather than Gnome. It has a smaller memory footprint.
    Anyway thanks for the Local Apt how-to!


Leave a Reply

Categories

