Posted by: Odzangba | January 2, 2011

Fix “undefined symbol: decor_property_to_quad” Compiz Error

I was bored last night and upgraded to Ubuntu 10.10. It went too smoothly in my opinion… things just worked. After installing some updates today however, compiz stopped working with the following error message:

Starting gtk-window-decorator
compiz: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/compiz/libdecoration.so: undefined symbol: decor_property_to_quads

I did a quick check with readshelf

:~$ readelf /usr/lib/compiz/libdecoration.so -s | grep decor_property_to_quads

and the symbol decor_property_to_quads was present:

24: 00000000 0 FUNC GLOBAL DEFAULT UND decor_property_to_quads

So that wasn’t the problem… a little digging in Synaptic and I found out that while I’d held back compiz at 0.8.6, libdecoration0 had been upgraded to 0.9.0. The fix was to downgrade libdecoration0 from 0.9.0 to 0.8.6. I had to re-enable a few extra plug-ins but that was all the excitement I got.😦 Now I hear KDE SC 4.6 RC1 is out and kmail2 is very unstable… muhahaha😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

